The Risks of Driving without Insurance in Lakewood, Colorado

Most normal people try to avoid unnecessary risks. Driving without insurance in Lakewood, Colorado is just plain stupid. The consequences of not having an auto insurance policy with at least the state minimum requirement, can be severe. Every responsible car owner should have insurance before the car should be driven. If you do not buy insurance because you cannot afford the price of a policy, you probably should not own a car.

An independent agent can stress the importance of having proper coverage for your automobile, but ultimately, it is up to you to make sure your vehicle is insured. Colorado requires every car owner to have property damage and bodily injury liability coverage. Most people choose to also have comprehensive and collision coverage in addition to the minimum state requirements. You can ask your independent agent about the other coverage available and then decide whether or not you want to add them to your basic policy.

Driving without coverage and getting pulled over by the police can make your life pretty miserable. First time uninsured drivers, who are found guilty of such an offense, will be slapped with a mandatory minimum fine of $500. Your license will be suspended until you can show proof that you have proper insurance. Four points will be put on your record and, your cost of buying an insurance policy will likely go up.

If you are found guilty of driving without insurance for a second time, the mandatory minimum fine increases to $1,000. Your license will be suspended for a minimum of four months and you will still get points and see your insurance rates go up.

As a three time loser, you can get a $1,000 minimum fine, a minimum eight month license suspension and be ordered to perform up to 40 hours of community service. After three times, you will probably lose your driving privileges for a long, long time.

All offenders, for the next three years are required to file an SR-22 form showing proof that they have the minimum, state mandated, liability coverage. Don’t be stupid. See your independent agent and get the coverage you need.